Home » About Us » Board of Directors

Board of Directors

2023-24 NASASPS Board of Directors

Cathie (Cam) Maeyaert

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board


2023 – 2024

Ms. Cathie Maeyaert is the Director of Private Postsecondary Institutions with the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board. Ms. Maeyaert has worked for the Coordinating Board since 2012, primarily overseeing authorization of private postsecondary educational institutions operating in Texas. She serves as the Coordinating Board’s Title IX Coordinator for Institutions and as Alternative Dispute Resolution Coordinator. Prior to that, she worked in the areas of compliance, accreditation, and licensing for a private for-profit multi-state educational system. Ms. Maeyaert has been an adjunct instructor at both a for-profit college and a non-profit private university. Throughout her career, Ms. Maeyaert has served on boards of directors for various non-profit charitable organizations. In a previous life, Cathie practiced intellectual property and employment law and developed continuing legal education seminars. She has a Bachelor of Arts degree from Hamline University and a Juris Doctor degree from William Mitchell College of Law.

This is her second term serving on the NASASPS Board of Directors and is serving as President for 2023-24.

Kevin LaMountain

Arizona State Board for Private Postsecondary Education

Vice President

2023 – 2024

Kevin LaMountain is currently the Executive Director at the Arizona State Board for Private Postsecondary Education. Prior to Kevin’s position with Arizona, he served in numerous roles in the private postsecondary space for over 30 years. Kevin’s experience in education ranges from service roles in career services, student services, and financial aid through Dean of Student Affairs and culminating in a Divisional President position for a large postsecondary institution. Kevin has dedicated his career to serving those individuals who seek to reach their goals through higher education. A graduate of Northern Arizona University’s educational leadership program, Kevin has dedicated his career to serving those individuals who seek to reach their goals through higher education. He advocates for always doing the “right thing” for students, faculty, and staff in these institutions.

Kevin is also the past president of the Arizona Private School Association and currently serves on the board of Caurus Academy, a small charter school system based in Anthem, Arizona. This is Kevin’s first term on the NASASPS board and he is serving as Vice President for 2023-24.

John Ware

Ohio State Board of Career Colleges and Schools


2023 – 2024

John Ware has served as Executive Director of the Ohio State Board of Career Colleges and Schools since 1997 and is responsible for the oversight and regulation of Ohio’s 230 career colleges and schools. In addition to the Board’s general oversight responsibilities, John is responsible for drafting and implementing Ohio’s rules and regulations governing career colleges including academic standards, admissions standards, and regulations governing the recruitment and solicitation of students.

Prior to joining the Board of Career Colleges and Schools, John served as an Ohio Assistant Attorney General for education, providing legal counsel to numerous state education agencies including the Ohio Board of Regents and the Ohio Department of Education. While serving as an Assistant Attorney General, John was responsible for the implementation and prosecution of administrative enforcement actions against state licensed teachers, private elementary and secondary schools, as well as licensed career colleges. John received his Bachelor of Arts from Michigan State University and his Juris Doctorate from The Ohio State University.

John is also active on many state and national education organizations and previously served as President of NASASPS from 2009-2015. This is his second term on the NASASPS Board of Directors since serving as President.

Debbie Cochrane

California’s Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education


2023 – 2024

Debbie Cochrane is the Bureau Chief of California’s Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, which authorizes 1,800 private institutions and associated locations in California and is home to the state Office of Student Assistance and Relief. Cochrane is also an appointed member of the National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and Integrity, a federally authorized committee responsible for providing recommendations to the U.S. Department of Education in its oversight of accrediting agencies that monitor the academic quality of postsecondary institutions and programs.

Cochrane has represented state higher education authorizing agencies in the U.S. Department’s development of program integrity regulations including gainful employment, financial responsibility, and administrative capability. She is also an inaugural Governing Board member of California’s Cradle-to-Career system, a statewide data system to help students reach their goals and deliver information on education and workforce outcomes.

Prior to her appointment as Bureau Chief, Cochrane was the executive vice president of The Institute for College Access & Success, a nonprofit organization focused on pursuing student-centered public policies that promote affordability, accountability, and equity in higher education. Her career includes service in research, direct service, and management roles within a variety of nonprofit settings. Cochrane holds an MSW with a focus on social policy from San Francisco State University and a BA from the University of Michigan.

This is her first term on the NASASPS Board of Directors.

Lynette Kuhn

Pennsylvania Department of Education


2024 – 2025

Lynette Kuhn is the Chief for the Division of Higher Education, Access, and Equity at the Pennsylvania Department of Education. In her current role, Lynette uses her 16 years of experience in higher-education administration in the oversight of state authorization processes for degree-granting institutions. Previously, she has worked as a career school administrator, overseeing the compliance and accreditation of six institutions in three different states. Lynette holds a Master of Education in Higher Education and Bachelor of Arts in Law and Society with an emphasis in labor employment and relations, both from Penn State University. She is currently in the process of completing her Doctor of Education degree in Leadership and Administration. Lynette enjoys working with school leaders and regulators to ensure learners have access to and receive quality education.

This is her first term serving on the NASASPS Board of Directors.

Crystal Puderbaugh

Kansas Board of Regents


2024 – 2025

This is her first term serving on the NASASPS Board of Directors.

Heather DeLange

Colorado’s Office of Private Postsecondary Education


2024 – 2025

Heather DeLange is the Director of the Office of Private Postsecondary Education for the Colorado Department of Higher Education. Heather has worked for the Department of Higher Education since2003 and has been overseeing the authorization of private, degree-granting institutions operating in Colorado since 2008. Heather graduated from Colorado State University with a Bachelor of Science in Biological Sciences and earned a Master of Arts in Higher Education Leadership & Administration from Adams State University.

This is Heather’s first term on the NASASPS Board of Directors.

Board Meeting Minutes are available upon request. Please email info@nasasps.org for more information.

The board of directors generally holds meetings on the third Tuesday of each month via teleconference. Any NASASPS member interested in attending a board meeting should contact the NASASPS president.